13 - 16 June, 2023

Bucharest | Romania

13 - 16 June, 2023

Bucharest | Romania

Best Student Paper

The ECC Best Student Paper award recognizes excellence in a paper presented at the European Control Conference whose primary author is a student at the time of submission.

The ECC 2023 Award Committee is chaired by Prof. Florin Stoican (University Politehnica of Bucharest).



PhD students may apply for the “best student prize” if they verify several eligibility conditions and follow the steps enumerated below.

Eligibility conditions:

  • they are first author of the paper in question
  • they were, at the end of the submission period for the initial version (28 November 2022), PhD students (certified by an official document from their department/university or doctoral school)
  • the student will present his/her paper at the conference
  • the paper has to be a contributed or invited paper (not an extended abstract)
  • nominations are limited to one paper per advisor.

Those that apply must:

  • send a direct email at this address; stating their interest to participate and the ID of the paper
  • provide a short (no more than 2 pages) CV containing information about their past and current position, results, PhD topic, PhD advisor name(s)
  • provide a letter of recommendation from their PhD advisor (emphasizing the originality, clarity and potential impact of the paper under discussion)
  • provide an official document certifying their enrollment as PhD student (at the date of the initial submission deadline).


The email containing all these details and attachments must be sent no later than the 20 April 27 April 9 May 2023 at this address.

Selection procedure and schedule:

  • the prize committee with gather all submissions and select no more than 6 of them for final review during the conference (information about the selected papers will be given no later than the May 20 May 31)
  • during the conference, each of the live presentations will be assessed by members  of the prize committee
  • a decision (based on both the quality of the paper and of the presentation) will be reached and the result will be announced at the Award ceremony on Friday, the 16th of June (the winner and the two next follow-ups).

The committee members are: Panos Patrinos (KU Leuven, Belgium), Radu-Emil Precup (Universitatea Politehnica Timisoara, Romania), Ionela Prodan (Grenoble INP, France), Vicenç Puig (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain), Stefan Streif (Technische Universität Chemnitz, Germany).

Award Committee chair

Prof. Florin Stoican
University Politehnica of Bucharest